h51483

Member for
2 years

Hokkaido

Hokkaido

Yoichi-cho

余市町

  • General Farm (grow various kinds of plants)
  • Orchard
  • Vegetable Gardens

  • Knowledge of General Farming
  • Non Chemical Fertilizer Method of Growing Foods
  • Apple Orchard
  • Grape Orchard
  • Other Orchard
  • Tips About Running a Farm
  • Using Well Water
  • Opportunities to Study English
  • Food and Farming Education
  • Making Jam
  • Food Care
  • Holistic Remedies
  • Walking to Enjoy Nature

About half organic

No

We have an organic attitude of sorts, but we do not go out of our way to be organic or alternative, rather, we do what suits us at the time

ファーストフード店にほとんど行かない、ごみはなるべくリサイクルしている、テレビはなるべく見ない、合成せっけんを使用しない、タバコは吸わない、利用できるものは長く使用している、物をリサイクルしている、中古品を利用している、野菜はなるべく自給している、野菜は量が多いものを加工している、作物はなるべくオーガニックで栽培している、食品はなるべくオーガニックのものを利用している

We separate rubbish and have it recycled or put it into compost. We cook and eat local products and support local producers as much as we can. We grow vegetables organically as much as we can.

  • General diet including meat and fish
  • We put great effort into how to cook and what to eat
  • We cook mainly Japanese meals
  • We sometimes cook Asian types of food
  • We sometimes cook Western types of food
  • We always cook homemade meals
  • We never eat pre-made foods from supermarkets and department stores
  • We never buy obento (lunch boxes) at convenience stores and supermarkets
  • We never eat fast food such as McDonald’s and KFC, etc.

When we have a party or an event, we might drink with WWOOFers but these occasions are not so often

No, nobody smokes

  • In the mountains
  • Farming area
  • Near the sea
  • Near the mountains
  • Quiet place
  • On a small street

Our home and our workplace are situated at the same place or very close to each other and so the atmosphere stated pertains to both our home and our workplace

Within 5 ha

  • Typical Japanese Size
  • Two Story House
  • Typical farm house

18

10

-5

No

Yes

  • Cat

  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September
  • October

  • 4 to 7 Days
  • 8 to 10 Days

Up to Two

Up to Five

  • 2 friend WWOOFers of the same gender
  • A couple who are WWOOFing together
  • A wife and husband couple
  • Siblings WWOOFing together

It is not possible

  • No conditions. If we do not have other WWOOFers or other WWOOFer reservations, we welcome all WWOOFers

  • General farming
  • Weeding
  • Seeding
  • Planting seedlings in the ground
  • Harvesting
  • Watering
  • Thinning out seedlings
  • Thinning out flowers / small fruits
  • Shipping goods

Usually 6 hours or less a day

  • In a room in the house where the Host family live
  • In a traditional Japanese Tatami mat room
  • Using a Japanese futon
  • One room for one person
  • One room for two WWOOFers

  • With the Host

Ask us when contacting us

Yes, at a designated location

  • No

No

It depends on the activities we are doing at our place at the time, however, we usually have time to communicate with WWOOFers

  • No, WWOOFers do not need to speak Japanese if they speak English

  • Japanese
  • English

私達は、北海道の大自然に囲まれた山あいで可能な限りオーガニックで栽培できる果樹、野菜をめざした農家です。ぶどう、さくらんぼ、今はプルーンが生食用で沢山穫れます。地方で独特のさくら豆などの珍しい地豆や黒豆のえだまめが特徴です。これら畑作は無農薬栽培です。

田舎での暮らしを楽しむことはイギリス滞在の経験からも夢だったし難しいこともあり発見の連続です。将来は、まだ苗木のリンゴを醸造用に育ててイングリッシュ・サイダーを作る目標があります。

こんな駆け出しの農園にも交流の場をつくり盛んな地域コミュニティーの輪を広げてウーファーさん達が何かかけがえのない価値観、ポジティブな相互理解を得てくださるのをお待ちしています。

Hi! We have a small farm of 3ha, located in the heart of dynamic nature in Hokkaido. We are relatively new to farming after spending time in big cities, such as London and Tokyo. Our family members are fluent in English because of our stay in the UK for 15 years.

We grow fruits and vegetables organically as much as we can. We do not use chemical fertilizers or herbicides at all. We do use other pesticides such as fungicides, but use them as little as possible for only particular plants.

We produce fresh fruits, such as prune plums, grapes, cherries and apples. We grow traditional local beans which are very rare varieties. We also grow a small quantity of vegetables for home use, such as asparagus, lettuce, onions, potatoes, carrots, garlic and herbs.

We have recently planted traditional cider apple varieties in our orchards. Our future plans are to grow them as organically as possible, to establish our own cidery and to make craft cider from these apples.

We have a good circle of friends, farmers and local organisations that you as a wwoofer can learn and exchange your ideas and deepen your cross-cultural experiences!
WE ARE ACCEPTING WWOOFers
ようこそ!イギリスで15年ほど生活したのちに、北海道余市に4年前に移住しました。8月下旬から10月初旬まで1〜2週間、私たちの果樹園でお手伝いしてくださる方を探しています。ヨーロッパのような美しい風景の余市での農作業、最高です。ぜひ!https://www.instagram.com/pink_orchards/
https://kurashigoto.hokkaido.jp/life/20210616090000.php
Welcome! Yoichi, Hokkaido - such a beautiful place to live. If you seek a deep cultural experience, this is the place for you to stay. We are looking for WWOOFers to help our orchards from June to September. We can help you discover your own Japan. https://www.instagram.com/pink_orchards/
https://kurashigoto.hokkaido.jp/life/20210616090000.php