h40573

Member for
5 years

Chugoku

Shimane

Ama-Cho, Oki (It is in Oki islands.)

隠岐郡海士町 (隠岐諸島)

  • General Farm (grow various kinds of plants)
  • Vegetable Gardens
  • Fishery
  • Farm Inn, Backpackers Lodge, Etc.
  • Farm Foods Processing Place

  • Knowledge of General Farming
  • Non Agricultural Chemical Method of Farming
  • Non Chemical Fertilizer Method of Growing Foods
  • Small Scale, Large Variety Farming
  • Rice Farming
  • Vegetable Farming
  • Worm Compost
  • Using Well Water
  • Forestry and the Use of Timber
  • Fishery
  • Opportunities to Study Japanese
  • Playing Musical Instruments
  • Producing Miso
  • Producing Soya Sauce
  • Making Soba (Buckwheat Noodles)
  • Making Soba noodles
  • Making Udon Noodles
  • Making Wooden Things
  • Making Seasonable Ornaments
  • Canoeing, Kayaking
  • Fishing

100% organic

No

We have an organic attitude of sorts, but we do not go out of our way to be organic or alternative, rather, we do what suits us at the time

米、麦、豆、野菜を無農薬・無化学肥料で生産している
生分解する洗剤を使っている

we grow rices, barley, vegetables in organic way
we use biodegradable detergent

  • General diet including meat and fish
  • We cook various international meals
  • We always cook homemade meals
  • We never eat pre-made foods from supermarkets and department stores
  • We never buy obento (lunch boxes) at convenience stores and supermarkets
  • We never eat fast food such as McDonald’s and KFC, etc.

When we have a party or an event, we might drink with WWOOFers but these occasions are not so often

No, nobody smokes

  • In a tiny village in a mountain area
  • Mixed area of farming and residential houses
  • Near the sea
  • Near the mountains
  • Quiet place
  • On a small street
  • WWOOFers can walk here from the nearest public transportation, station / bus stop

Our home and our workplace are situated at the same place or very close to each other and so the atmosphere stated pertains to both our home and our workplace

Within 1ha (100 a)

  • Large House
  • Two Story House
  • Typical Residential Home

15

25

15

5

Yes

No

  • Almost All Year Round

  • 4 to 7 Days
  • 8 to 10 Days
  • A Few Weeks
  • The first 1 to 3 days will be a trial period. If we feel that the WWOOFer is not suited to our place, the activities we do and the people we are, then we ask them to leave

One Only

5 to 20

Depends on the situation

  • Any gender
  • Any gender including LGBT, etc.
  • We welcome all nationalities
  • WWOOFers who are interested in farming
  • WWOOFers who like nature
  • WWOOFers who are interested in environmental issues
  • WWOOFers who are interested in living in a rural area
  • WWOOFers who are interested in food
  • WWOOFers who can learn things with the Host together
  • WWOOFers who have no dislikes about eating and food
  • WWOOFers who do not dislike insects
  • WWOOFers who can be fine with humid hot summer
  • WWOOFers who do not have dust allergy

  • General farming
  • Weeding
  • Gathering grass
  • Seeding
  • Planting seedlings in the ground
  • Harvesting
  • Sifting soil
  • Watering
  • Planting rice plants
  • Reaping rice
  • Threshing
  • Getting rid of rice husks
  • Thinning out seedlings
  • Managing vegetable / rice fields
  • Carrying logs
  • Cultivation of farm land
  • Maintaining forest in the mountains / bush
  • Cleaning
  • Cooking
  • Washing the dishes
  • General housework
  • Making a bath using wood for fuel
  • Maintaining tools & equipment
  • Building houses
  • Repairing houses
  • Painting
  • Processing food
  • Making bread

Usually 6 hours or less a day

  • In a room in the house where the Host family live
  • In a traditional Japanese Tatami mat room
  • Using a Japanese futon

  • With the Host

Depends on the situation

No

  • No

Yes

It depends on the activities we are doing at our place at the time, however, we usually have time to communicate with WWOOFers

  • No, WWOOFers do not need to speak Japanese if they speak English

  • Japanese
  • English
  • Mandarin Chinese
  • Cantonese Chinese

隠岐は離島でありながら、豊富な湧き水に恵まれ、海・山・田・畑の揃った日本の箱庭のようなところです。私たちホストはウーフで夫婦となり、今は4人の子供と6人暮らしです。半農半漁 +α の暮らしを実践できます。米・麦・大豆に野菜の栽培といった野良しごとに加え、すぐ近くの海では釣りをしたり、刺網を使い新鮮な魚を獲ったりする体験もできます。興味のある方のお越しをお待ちしております。匂いのついた洗剤や香水が苦手なので、使用されている方はご遠慮ください。

Ama(Nakanoshima) is one of the Oki islands, which locate some 60 kilometers offshore in the sea of Japan. Although Ama is a remote island, it has everything you expect when you come to Japan. There are farming and fishing villages sorrounded by mountains and the sea. People grow rice and vegetables with beautiful spring water.

My wife came here as a WWOOFer some years ago and now we are family with lovely little baby boy. We also have chickens and honey bees.

We are really looking forward to sharing time with another new family member!

We like the life without synthetic perfumed detergent or fragrance, thanks.
WE ARE ACCEPTING WWOOFers
4月より受け入れ再開予定です。
we will close until April.