h26942

Member for
8 years

Kyushu/Okinawa

Okinawa

Yaeyama-gun, Taketomi-cho (Iriomote island)

八重山郡竹富町(西表島)

  • Nature Guide
  • Outdoor Sports
  • Ecotourism
  • Sightseeing Business
  • Eco-Goods Sales, Natural Goods Shop
  • Other

規模が小さめのペンション、おみやげ屋(手作り雑貨/手ぬぐい・染物・自然素材のアクセサリーなど、手描きTシャツなど)

A small inn and souvenir shop(selling: natural handcrafts, Japanese towels, died materials accessories, T shirts)

  • Picking Up Garbage
  • Outdoor Skills
  • Hand-Made Goods
  • Hand-Made Soaps and Creams
  • Selling Eco-Goods
  • Producing Eco-Goods
  • Canoeing, Kayaking
  • Walking to Enjoy Nature
  • Swimming in the Ocean (In Season)
  • Mountain Climbing
  • Walking in the Bush
  • Bird Watching
  • Fishing

We have an organic attitude of sorts, but we do not go out of our way to be organic or alternative, rather, we do what suits us at the time

西表島は物資が少ないということもありますが、例えば紙おむつやナプキンなど、布で自分で作る、無駄なもの(そのままではゴミになってしまうもの)もリサイクルして他の物に作り直す等して、ゴミになるものをなるべく減らすようにしています。海や、山自然の中で見つけた物をアイデアで利用できるものに活用します。

Iriomote island doesn't have a lot of materials, so we sew our own diapers and napkins, and reuse/remake many things to try to reduce garbage. We collect things from the seashore or mountains and use them creatively.

  • General diet including meat and fish
  • We cook mainly Japanese meals
  • We sometimes cook Western types of food
  • We usually cook homemade meals
  • We may buy obento (lunch boxes) at convenience stores and supermarkets

When we have a party or an event, we might drink with WWOOFers but these occasions are not so often

No, nobody smokes

  • Near the sea
  • Near the mountains
  • Near a river
  • Very quiet
  • On a small street
  • WWOOFers can walk here from the nearest public transportation, station / bus stop

Our home and our workplace are situated at the same place or very close to each other and so the atmosphere stated pertains to both our home and our workplace

Within 660 square meters

  • Large House
  • Two Story House
  • Other

住んでいる家と、宿が同じ建物です。

We will have wwoofers stay in the same building as with us.

25

33

26

15

No

Yes

  • Dog
  • Cat

  • March
  • May
  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September
  • October

  • A Few Weeks to a Few Months
  • Both Short Period and Long Period Welcome
  • The period will be determined depending on our workload
  • The first one week will be a trial period. If we feel that the WWOOFer is not suited to our place, the activities we do and the people we are, then we ask them to leave
  • If WWOOFers want to stay for a long period, after about a one week trial period, we decide if the WWOOFer is suited to our place and whether we will ask him or her to stay longer

Up to Two

5 to 20

It is not possible

  • We prefer female WWOOFers, if possible
  • Single WWOOFer
  • In their 20s
  • In their 30s
  • In their 40s
  • We prefer Japanese WWOOFers
  • We prefer WWOOFers who can speak Japanese
  • WWOOFers do not need much physical strength but they should be able to do light activities
  • WWOOFers with absolutely no farming experience are welcome
  • WWOOFers who like nature
  • WWOOFers who are interested in environmental issues
  • WWOOFers who are interested in living in a rural area
  • WWOOFers who are interested in food
  • WWOOFers who can cook
  • WWOOFers who can cook meals by themselves at the Host
  • WWOOFers who like doing house chores, for example cooking, cleaning and washing
  • WWOOFers who can clean rooms
  • WWOOFers who can look after children
  • WWOOFers who like animals
  • WWOOFers who like outdoor sports
  • WWOOFers who can do carpentry
  • Active WWOOFers
  • Cheerful WWOOFers
  • WWOOFers who like talking to people
  • Funny WWOOFers
  • WWOOFers who have a happy smile
  • Honest WWOOFers
  • Responsible WWOOFers
  • Independent WWOOFers
  • WWOOFers who have aspirations
  • WWOOFers who can be patient
  • WWOOFers who can be cooperative
  • WWOOFers who can undertake activities without supervision
  • WWOOFers who are interested in producing quality outcomes
  • WWOOFers who can get up early in the morning
  • WWOOFers who have no dislikes about eating and food
  • WWOOFers who do not dislike insects
  • WWOOFers who can be fine with humid hot summer
  • WWOOFers who can drive automatic cars
  • WWOOFers who have a will to learn the native language(s)
  • Healthy WWOOFers
  • WWOOFers who do not have any animal allergies
  • WWOOFers who are interested in nature experience or becoming a nature guide rather than farming
  • Other

日本語を話せる方募集しています。
※土地柄、虫やヤモリなどがお部屋に入ってきてしまうこともあります。苦手な方はご遠慮ください。

We are inviting wwoofers that can speak Japanese.(even a little)
***This is the Jungle. There are lots of insects and geckos in the house. If you can`t stand them, you can't stay here.

  • Gathering grass
  • Cleaning
  • Collecting garbage
  • Supporting environmental activities
  • Cooking
  • Washing the dishes
  • General housework
  • Looking after children
  • Maintaining tools & equipment
  • Repairing houses
  • Painting
  • Helping with shop activities
  • Taking dogs for a walk
  • Washing
  • General living and accommodation related activities
  • Helping outdoor sports activities
  • Making handicrafts

Usually 6 hours or less a day

  • In a room in the house where the Host family live
  • In a WWOOFer & worker house (building)
  • In a room in an office / a shop
  • Using a Japanese futon
  • Using a bed
  • One room for one person
  • One room for two WWOOFers
  • Other

お風呂やトイレはホストと同じ場所を利用。 二名同室もOKです。
時期によっては一部屋を区切って半分は倉庫の様に利用、半分はウーファーさんのお部屋となることもあります。

Wwoofers will be using the same bathroom and shower as the host. 2 wwoofers can also stay in the same room. Depending on the season, we many have wwoofers stay in a room that is divided into half bedroom, half storage.

  • Usually with the Host

It is not possible

Yes, at a designated location

  • Yes, but it is limited

Yes

If we do not have any language barriers, we have time to communicate with WWOOFers

  • Yes
  • Yes, to a certain degree

  • Japanese
  • French
  • Other

ホストはフランス語を少し話せますが、フランス語を読み書きすることが出来ません。英語は全く出来ません。
日本語を話せる方募集です。

The host can understand a little french, but cannot read or write in french. The host can not speak English at all.
We welcome wwoofers that can speak Japanese(even a little bit).

西表島の生活はとてもシンプルで、不必要なものはあまりありません。
無駄なものをなるべく出さない、再利用する為に作り直すというような生活スタイルが、大自然西表で暮らす、自然と共に生きる、自然を守るということに繋がっていくと思います。
食べ物は、地元のおじぃ、おばぁが作る季節の有機野菜、地元のお魚等が中心です。地域の人達と交換したり、協力し合って生活しています。
無理をせず自然体で暮らすことが、楽しくエコでオーガニックな生活に繋がっています。
私たちはウーファーの方に、カヌーや山登り、キャンプ、シュノーケリングや磯遊び、ビーチコーミング等、自然の中の遊びをご案内できます。
また、自然の素材(素材から集めます)を使って、雑貨作り(民具・バック・カゴ・アクセサリーなど)、一緒に出来ます。
子供が二人(11歳、7歳)いますので、子供が好きな方が条件です。
※ご本人のプロフィール写真が無い方はお断りしています。宜しくお願い致します。

Life on Iriomote island is very simple and without excess. We believe that by reducing waste by reusing, our lifestyle will connect to living in nature, with nature, and to protecting nature.

We mostly eat the seasonal vegetables and fruits that the people of Iriomote grow, and local fish. We live by connecting and cooperating with those around us.

Living a relaxed natural life, connects to living organic and eco-friendly.

We can give wwoofers information on hiking, camping, snorkeling and beach combing. Also on wwoofers holidays we may invite wwoofers to come on canoeing and trekking tours.

Also, we can make bags, boxes, accessories etc. from natural materials(we begin by collecting the natural materials) with wwoofers.

We take wwoofers on the condition that they like children, as we have 2. (ages 7 and 4)

* We cannot accept wwoofers that do not have a photo on their profile.
Looking forward to meeting you!!
WE ARE ACCEPTING WWOOFers
お手伝いの内容はペンションの客室のお掃除、お食事の手伝い、子供と遊ぶ、小物づくり等いろいろです。お手伝いは女性向きです。海・山・川、自然が大好きな方ぜひ来て下さい!
10月上旬から1か月間以上お手伝い出来る方募集中です。
Your support will include cleaning the inns guest rooms, making handcrafts, helping with the cooking and looking after children.  We think this work is easier for women, but if you are coming as a couple, men are welcome too. Those who love Natures oceans, mountains and rivers, please come visit us!